History of Penn Forest Christian Church
Penn Forest Christian Church has a rich heritage. Originally the church first met at the old Piney Grove Church. The building was built in 1845 and was located near the Tanglewood Mall area. The State bought the property and razed the building to make way for the Southwest Expressway extension. The church then moved to its present location on Penn Forest Blvd in 1974.
For well over a century, the church has ministered to southwest Roanoke and beyond. Though the message shared about Jesus Christ will not change, the church constantly tries to reinvent itself to more effectively minister in the present day and with the future in mind. We realize that we are called to impact lives for Christ by connecting, training, and serving.
We thank God for the rich heritage He has given us and for the challenge of the future ahead.